Indiana News

Tony Kanaan Wins 97th Indianapolis 500


(photo courtesy INDYCAR)

It took him 12 attempts but Brazil's Tony Kanaan can now call himself an Indy 500 champion.

Kanaan crossed the yard of bricks under a caution caused by a crash on lap 197 involving last year's winner Dario Franchitti.  Prior to that, Kanaan was able to gain the lead on a restart from another caution on lap 194.  After drinking the milk in Victory Lane, Kanaan was ecstatic.

"I can't believe that we did it.  We finally did it," Kanaan exclaimed.

It was a record-setting race with 68 lead changes, double the amount of lead changes set in last year's race.  There were 14 different race leaders, including four who led in Indy for the first time.  It was also the fastest Indy 500 in history with an average speed of 187.433 miles per hour.

Kanaan was followed in the top five by rookie Carlos Munoz, defending IZOD IndyCar Series Champion Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti and Justin Wilson.


Copyright by © 2012. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

WIBC News Traffic Hotline

If you see a news story or traffic tie-up, let us know!

Call:  317.637.6397


Send photos:


Garrison Chicks Abdul At Large Abdul At Large