Indiana News

Metro Indy Counties Urge Drivers to Stay Off Roads During Storm


(Click to view full map from IN Dept. Homeland Security)

Fifty-nine Indiana counties have travel restrictions in place during the snow storm.

Marion County has dropped its travel restrictions down to an Travel Advisory, where restricted travel is recommend. Twenty-two other counties are also under that advisory. They include Clay, Crawford, Dubois, Fountain, Greene, Howard, Jackson, Jay, Jefferson, Madison, Marshall, Miami, Orange, Perry, Ripley, Tipton, Wabash, Warrick, Washington, White, Vanderburgh, and Vermillion.

Hamilton, Hendricks, Hancock, and Boone are among 24 counties are under Travel Watches, which allows only essential travel for work or emergencies. Those are Adams, Bartholomew, Clinton, Decatur, Delaware, Fayette, Grant, Jennings, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Parke, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Rush, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Wayne, and Vigo counties.

Twelve counties, including Johnson, Morgan, and Shelby remain under the highest advisory - a Travel Warning, which allows travel only by emergency personnel. They include Brown, Daviess, Henry, , Gibson, Green, Monroe, Montgomery, Owen, and Pike counties.

A Winter Weather Advisory remains in effect until 7 p.m. It will likely be allowed to expire.


Copyright by © 2012. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

WIBC News Traffic Hotline

If you see a news story or traffic tie-up, let us know!

Call:  317.637.6397


Send photos:


Garrison Chicks Abdul At Large Abdul At Large