The Indy 500

Blog > The Indy 500 > The Indy 500: Top 10 Team Owners

The Indy 500: Top 10 Team Owners

Top 10 Indy 500 Team Owners

The Indy 500 Top 10 Team Owners

1 of 10
#1 Roger Penske
Photo by: 
Photo courtesy of Indianapolis Motor Speedway


#10  Andy Granatelli -  Perhaps the greatest promoter in not only the world of motorsports, but any arena. Granatelli was perhaps more famous for the cars he entered that lost, the popular Novis and the polarizing Turbines, than for the one that won in 1969 with Mario Andretti behind the wheel.

#9  Mike Boyle  -  A complex man known both as a tough union leader, and a forward-thinking sportsman. “Umbrella Mike” Boyle had some of the greatest drivers in racing history at the wheel of his cars, none more so than Wilbur Shaw, who won back-to-back Indianapolis 500’s for Boyle in 1939 and 1940 at the wheel of the famous Boyle Maserati.

#8  Harry Hartz – As a driver, Hartz finished second three times in the Indianapolis 500, with five top five finishes in his six starts. But as a car owner, Hartz’s cars grabbed the checkered flag twice, with Billy Arnold in 1930, and two years later with Fred Frame behind the wheel.

#7  J.C. Agajanian -  One of the greatest racing promoters in history, “Aggie” was a hugely successful car owner as well. Agajanian had an eye for California talent, making Troy Ruttman and Parnelli Jones household names with their Indianapolis 500 wins in his famous number 98.

#6  Michael Andretti – The driver who has led the most laps in Indianapolis 500 history without a win at the Brickyard, Andretti has more leading circuits than 58 of the 69 men who ARE on the Borg-Warner Trophy. But Andretti has made three trips to Victory Lane as an owner, starting in 2005 with Dan Wheldon. Two years later Dario Franchitti gave Andretti a second win as a car owner, and Ryan Hunter-Reay added a third for Andretti Autosport in 2014.

#5  U.E. “Pat” Patrick -  A “wildcatter” who struck oil in Michigan, Patrick struck gold at the Brickyard three times. Gordon Johncock took Patrick to Victory Lane twice, in 1973 and 1982, and the Michigander added a third Borg-Warner Trophy in a partnership with Chip Ganassi in 1989 with Emerson Fittipaldi behind the wheel.

#4  Chip Ganassi  - A former driver who was once the fastest rookie in the Indianapolis 500 field, Chip  Ganassi has built one of the most powerful teams in all of racing, with championships and major victories in IndyCar, NASCAR, and sports car racing. Ganassi’s team won their first Indianapolis 500 in 2000 with rookie Juan Pablo Montoya dominating in a one-off effort. Scott Dixon won from the pole eight years later for Team Target, with teammate Dario Franchitti grabbing two wins for the powerhouse in 2010 and 2012.

#3  Leader Cards -  The “Flying W’s” of Ward, Wilke and Watson won two Indianapolis 500’s together in 1959 and 1962, part of an incredible run where they didn’t finish lower than fourth over a six-year period. After Ward departed, the team grabbed a third checkered flag with Bobby Unser as lead driver in 1968.

#2  Lou Moore – Another driver-turned-owner whose successful racing career is overshadowed by victories as a team boss. Moore finished second as a rookie and third twice before hanging up his helmet. As an owner, Moore’s powerful Blue Crown team dominated the late 1940’s, winning three straight from 1947-to-949. Those three Borg-Warner Trophies added to victories in 1938 and 1941, making the former driver the second-winningest car owner in Indianapolis 500 history.

#1  Roger Penske  -  The gold standard in open-wheel racing, Roger Penske’s incredible record at the Indianapolis 500 has netted the Ohio native an amazing 16 victories in the Greatest Spectacle in Racing. An outstanding former driver himself, Penske has won the “500” with an incredible 11 different drivers. Penske’s cars won three in a row from 2001-to-2003, and twice won five races in a single decade (1980’s and 2000’s).

INDIANAPOLIS - Rookie Alexander Rossi earned more than $2.5 million Sunday for his win at the Indianapolis 500...
SPEEDWAY, Ind.--The concert will go on at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway today, unless there is lightening or...