A photo of Donald Trump and Joe Biden in a side-by-side
(PHOTO: Getty Images)

Trump, Biden Win Indiana Primaries

STATEWIDE-– Democrat Joe Biden and Republican Donald Trump have won Indiana’s presidential primaries.

All of Biden’s rivals have already dropped out of the race. The former vice president’s haul of delegates from the Indiana victory pushes him closer to the 1,911 delegates he needs to capture the Democratic presidential nomination.

Other Projected Winners

In the 5th district, Victoria Spartz won the Republican nomination while Christina Hale took the Democratic nomination.

U.S. Rep. Jackie Walorski has won the Republican nomination in Indiana’s 2nd Congressional District. Patricia Hackett is the projected winner of the Democratic nomination.

U.S. Rep. Jim Banks has won the Republican nomination for the 3rd Congressional District.

U.S. Rep. Greg Pence has won the Republican nomination and Jeannine Lake won the Democratic nomination for the 6th Congressional District.

In District 4, Joe Mackey won the Democratic nomination.

In District 7, Andre Carson won the Democratic nomination. Susan Smith won the Republican nomination.

In District 9, Andy Ruff won the Democratic nomination.

Coronavirus Restrictions 

This year close to 500,000 absentee ballots were sent out in Indiana due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Marion County government says the final results may be delayed. This year, the county sent out 100,000 absentee ballots applications, a record number, and the county clerks were expecting a record number of those ballots to be returned Tuesday.

Leaders in Hamilton County said counting the results could take days.


Related Articles