Local News

News > Local News > Higher Education Commission Recoginizing College Success Counties

Higher Education Commission Recoginizing College Success Counties

( photo: Ray Steele)

Will a highway sign that says your county is a College Success County encourage more people to go to college? The state's higher education commissioner hopes so.

The Commission on Higher Education recognized 15 counties as Indiana College Success Counties for their efforts to boost the number of people in the state who have completed some sort of degree beyond high school.  The counties all created plans designed to increase the percentage of their recent high school graduates who have access to postsecondary education.  "Just like we say access is not the prize in higher education, completion is, you now have to go the next part of this journey with those who are working with you in the counties," said higher education commissioner Teresa Lubbers.

The latest counties to be named a College Success County are Benton, Blackford, DeKalb, Dubois, Elkhart, Fayette, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Miami, Montgomery, Pike, Porter, Steuben and Wabash. A majority of the state's counties - 62 out of 92 - now have the designation from the state.

This is part of the state's effort to boost the number of Hoosiers with an education beyond high school to 60-percent by 2025, and it's not just about getting people with more four-year degrees.  "We know there are great career pathways for people who have two-year degrees, one-year certificates and quality workforce credentials if they are growing sectors of our economy," Lubbers said.

SOUTH BEND, Ind. --The University of Notre Dame is looking to cover its Christopher Columbus paintings. The school...
INDIANAPOLIS- -It's going to be a very cold start to the day for most of Indiana. The National Weather Service is...