News > National > Leaders of US, Canada, and Mexico Sign Trade Deal

Leaders of US, Canada, and Mexico Sign Trade Deal

Pres. Donald Trump, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, and Mexican President Enrique Peno Nieto signed the deal Friday.

BUENOS AIRES -- President Trump and the leaders of Canada and Mexico are a step closer to a new trade deal for North America. 

President Trump, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and Mexican President Enrique Peña Nieto of Mexico signed the U.S-Mexico-Canada Agreement on Friday in Buenos Aires, where they're meeting for the G20 summit.

The agreement updates the 24-year-old North American Free Trade Agreement, known as NAFTA.

Trump said all three leaders worked long and hard to get to this point.  He said the deal, commonly called the USMCA, would go along way towards promoting fair competition.

The new deal isn't done, though.  It needs to be ratified by the Congresses of the U.S. and Mexico and Canada's Parliament. 

(Photo by Saul Loeb/AFP/Getty.)

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Vice-President Mike Pence says the Trump Administration supports banning abortions. Pence said...
MORRISTOWN, Ariz. -- Grumpy Cat, arguably the internet's most popular cat and one of its first viral memes, has...