Brad Keselowski Ends Team Penske's Stock Car Drought At IMS



News > Sports > Brad Keselowski Ends Team Penske's Stock Car Drought At IMS

Brad Keselowski Ends Team Penske's Stock Car Drought At IMS

Brad Keselowski went from third to first in the final three laps of the race to secure Team Penske's first stock car win at IMS

SPEEDWAY, Ind. -- The stock car drought is over for Roger Penske at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

After restarting in the third spot with just three laps to go, Brad Keselowski weaved his way around Denny Hamlin and Clint Bowyer to take Team Penske's first ever checkered flag in the Brickyard 400.

Erik Jones was second followed by Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, and Clint Bowyer. 

Keselowski secured the lead after getting around Hamlin in Turn 4 coming to two-laps-to-go.

"It played into our hands but then we had to execute from there," Keselowski told the IMS Radio Network. "Denny is a heck of a race car driver. He didn't give it to me easy, nor should he."

"He made me work for it and I just barely cleared him off of four. I knew if I didn't get him there I knew I probably wasn't gonna win this race. So I slung her down in there and she just barely stuck and it just worked out from there."

Roger Penske is now the second team owner to win both the Indianapolis 500 (Will Power) and the Brickyard 400 (Kesolowski) in the same calendar year. Chip Ganassi was the first to do it back in 2010 with Dario Franchetti and Jamie McMurray. 

It was a less than stellar day for two-time Brickyard 400 winner Kyle Busch. He finished sixth after starting on the pole position by way of the points standings when qualifying was rained out.

With the finish Busch secured the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup regular season championship for Joe Gibbs Racing.

The series will kickoff the NASCAR Cup playoffs this weekend at the so-called "roval" at Las Vegas.

(PHOTO: Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images) 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The Indianapolis Colts were winners over arguably the best team in the NFL last night in the...
SPEEDWAY, Ind. -- Over 600 miles worth of laps were turned by IndyCar drivers Scott Dixon and Will Power yesterday...